Writing in different genres

I started writing a Dystopian graphic novel with the intention of continuing the series.  However, I then wrote an Urban Fantasy/Dystopian novella which I had in the back of my mind since the creation of the Zeek series started taking place, back in June 2007.  I made both freely available in order to build a readership and to test the market reaction.  Two years since publication in 2012, I have a significant number of downloads that I am happy with (around a 1,100) given I haven’t spent any time marketing (that is all about to change!).  In addition, I am really pleased with the reader response to the stories.

However, I have since added another genre to my belt.  In 2013, I started researching elements of exopolitics – the results of which were my first full-length novel which I wrote in the summer of 2014.

So, this morning, I sent my sample manuscript to a traditional publisher and I feel, for the first time in my life, really positive about anything.

I just love the novel.

So, the point I am trying to make is – as a writer, write what you know and what you feel comfortable with.  I must say, at this point, I have ideas for a Historical Fiction novel and a Magic Realism novel and also another Sci-Fi novel.

However, what I really want to do is finish off the Zeek series first.  At the moment, I am considering writing a prose version of Zeek and the Hoodies and finishing that series off in prose form – which can easily be done.

😉

4 thoughts on “Writing in different genres

  1. yay!! so nice to see you back! can’t wait to get into your new book…adding to the top of my list of TBR…good luck with the publisher…well done you! ps. I posted to all social media, but for some reason wordpress never shows that I’ve tweeted of facebk on your counter…it’s infuriating!!

Leave a Reply

